The Canadian Jeiwsh News

Saturday, August 1, 2015

Member Login:

Paul Penna gala raises over $150,000

Tags: Jewish learning

TORONTO — The 2009 Paul Penna Downtown Jewish Day School Tribute Gala recently raised over $150,000. Honouring Dr. Zane Cohen, chair of the division of general surgery at the University of Toronto and former surgeon in chief at Mount Sinai Hospital, the 6th annual Tribute Gala took place on June 8 at the Al Green Theatre in the Miles Nadal Jewish Community Centre.

Hosts for the evening, Diane Flacks and Richard Greenblatt (videos)

Guests at the Gala included Dr. Trevor Born, Ellen Cole, Elli Davis, Lloyd and Gladys Fogler, George Friedmann, Brian Gluckstein, Dr. Allan Gross, Elise Kalles, Murray and Marvelle Koffler, Tiana Koffler-Boyman and Marc Boyman, Steve Paikin, Paul Pape and Gillian Lansdowne, Joe Lebovic, Dr. Richard and Cheryl Reznick, Howard and Carole Tanenbaum, Larry and Judy Tanenbaum, and Harold Wolkin.

From Left: Andrew Tanenbaum, Jodi Tanenbaum, Paul Pape, Gillian Lansdowne, Dr. Zane Cohen, Aviva Rajsky

Stars from the Canadian cast of the Jersey Boys rounded up a lineup of outstanding talent appearing at the event.
The Jazzabelles

The impressive array of performers included So You Think You Can Dance Canada finalist Miles Faber, Gemini award-winning actor, director and composer Ted Dykstra, Juno award-winning singer/songwriter Melanie Doane, the powerful vocal trio Zari, I, Claudia actress and playwright, Kristen Thomson, Zero Gravity circus sensation Jen Georgopoulos, renowned playwrights and performers Kathryn Greenwood and Teresa Pavlinek of Women Fully Clothed, and the swinging harmony of the Jazzabelles.  The evening was co-hosted by the comedic team of actor/writer Diane Flacks and Richard Greenblatt.

Miles Faber and Dr. Zane Cohen

Cast of The Jersey Boys
The annual Tribute Gala is made possible thanks to the volunteer efforts of the production staff, all of whom are school parents, and through the generosity of the artists toward the school.  The production team included Danny Greenspoon, Leah Cherniak, Alon Nashman, Vivienne Kugler, Daniel Brooks, Sherry Dayton, and Diane Flacks.


[David Collin Photos]

© 2015 - CJNEWS.COM, all rights reserved.